Our People

Our staff enjoy and celebrate our students. They are knowledgeable in their field and are committed to searching out the latest teaching techniques, strategies and resources to provide our students with the best possible opportunity to succeed.

The staff are fun to be with and creative. They are committed to meeting the individual needs of students and their families. Staff are empathetic and energetic, kind and supportive. Tauranga Special School has a team of specialists who travel to all locations to provide both advisory and hands on service. Together they form our Specialist Team.

 

Specialists

Speech Language Therapists

Billie Hampton Edwards (Mon to Fri) billiehe@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Edwina Burke (Tue, Wed, Thu) edwinab@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Kit Hardy (Wed, Thu, Fri) kith@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Kathleen Faulls (Mon, Tue, Wed) kathleenf@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Occupational Therapists

Erin Connolly (Mon to Fri) erinc@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Kate MacLean (Wed, Thu, Fri) katem@taurangaspecialschool.nz 

Physiotherapist

Karen Porter (Tue, Wed, Thu) karenp@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Specialist Teacher - Kaiārahi Hauora

Penny Gee (Mon to Thu) pennyg@taurangaspecialschool.nz

 

Specialist Assistants

Thelma Dibley - Physiotherapy Assistant

Kim Harris - Physiotherapy Assistant

Marcia Martin - Occupational Therapy Assistant

 

Wider Leadership Group

Jo Crean (Curriculum Leader/Professional Support) joc@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Nicky Henderson (Professional Learning Leader) nickyh@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Jay Rotarangi (WSL) jayr@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Penny Gee (WSL) pennyg@taurangaspecialschool.nz

 

Administration

Glenys Wickens - Executive Officer

Michele Hughes - Office Administrator

Naomi McDonald - Leadership Assistant

Our Board:

Presiding Member: Sandra Peter

Parent Representatives:  Malcolm Poppe, Daisy Togo, Mike Nuku, Maria Veronese

Staff Representative: Amy Bisley

Board Secretary: Barb Turley

Our Leadership Team

Barrie Wickens

Principal

barriew@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Andrea Andresen

Assistant Principal

andreaa@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Billie Hampton Edwards

Specialist Team Leader

billiehe@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Dale Megson

Deputy Principal

dalem@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Alice Webb

Outreach Service Leader

alicew@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Classroom Teachers

Base School

 

Room 1: Michael Woodnut michaelw@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Room 2: Cat Banks catb@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Room 3: Pip Jonathan pipj@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Room 4: Irene Martin irenem@taurangaspecialschool.nz

 

Satellite Classes

 

Brookfield: Cathryn Fox cathrynf@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Hayley Goodger hayleyg@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Welcome Bay: Nicky Henderson nickyh@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Jay Rotarangi jayr@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Tauranga Intermediate: Gayna Paris gaynap@taurangaspecialschool.nz

David Norman davidn@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Papamoa College: Monique Eades moniqued@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Jennifer Banks jenniferb@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Brendon Oates brendono@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Devonport Road Campus: Helen Murdoch helenm@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Yasumi Kobayashi yasumik@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Community College Class: Sue Padgett suep@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Margaret Briasco margaretb@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Core Values 2017