Our People

Our staff enjoy and celebrate our students. They are knowledgeable in their field and are committed to searching out the latest teaching techniques, strategies and resources to provide our students with the best possible opportunity to succeed.

The staff are fun to be with and creative. They are committed to meeting the individual needs of students and their families. Staff are empathetic and energetic, kind and supportive. Tauranga Special School has a team of specialists who travel to all locations to provide both advisory and hands on service. Together they form our Specialist Team.


Speech Language Therapists

Billie Hampton Edwards (Mon to Fri) billiehe@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Rebecca Scott (Mon to Fri) rebeccas@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Kathleen Faulls (Mon, Tue, Wed) kathleenf@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Bridget Fox (Mon, Wed, Fri) Maternity cover bridgetf@taurangaspecialschool.nz


Occupational Therapists

Erin Connolly (Mon to Fri) erinc@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Kate MacLean (Wed, Thu, Fri) katem@taurangaspecialschool.nz 

Amy Prouse (Wed, Thu) amyp@taurangaspecialschool.nz



Megan Munro (Mon-Fri) meganm@taurangaspecialschool.nz


Specialist Assistants

Awhina Brown - Physiotherapy Assistant

Kim Harris - Physiotherapy Assistant

Wider Leadership Group

Nicky Henderson (Professional Learning Leader) nickyh@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Jay Rotarangi (WSL) jayr@taurangaspecialschool.nz

Pip Jonathan (Professional Learning Leader) pipj@taurangaspecialschool.nz



Naomi McDonald - Executive Assistant

Jillian Peck - Finance Officer

Michele Hughes - Office Administrator

Serena Stock - Resource Assistant



Our Board:

Presiding Member: Sandra Peter

Parent Representatives: Malcolm Poppe, Daisy Togo, Mike Nuku, Maria Veronese

Staff Representative: Amy Bisley

Board Secretary: Barb Turley

Our Leadership Team

Barrie Wickens



Dale Megson

Deputy Principal


Alice Webb

Assistant Principal


Billie Hampton Edwards

Specialist Team Leader


Fritha Millington

Leader of Curriculum


Penny Gee

Leader of Wellbeing Pathways


Classroom Teachers

Base School


  • Room 1: Michael Woodnut michaelw@taurangaspecialschool.nz
  • Room 2: Gayna Paris gaynap@taurangaspecialschool.nz
  • Room 3: Charlene Irving charlenei@taurangaspecialschool.nz
  • Room 4: Hayley Goodger hayleyg@taurangaspecialschool.nz


Satellite Classes

Te Kuro o Manunui: 

  • Cathryn Fox cathrynf@taurangaspecialschool.nz
  • Jo Harvey joh@taurangaspecialschool.nz


Welcome Bay: 

  • Kirsty Chambers kirstyc@taurangaspecialschool.nz
  • Anna Mangos annam@taurangaspecialschool.nz


Tauranga Intermediate: 

  • Jolani Jordaan jolanij@taurangaspecialschool.nz
  • Sara Thorburn sarat@taurangaspecialschool.nz


Papamoa College: 

  • Jennifer Banks jenniferb@taurangaspecialschool.nz
  • Andrew McCully andrewm@taurangaspecialschool.nz
  • David Norman davidn@taurangaspecialschool.nz


Devonport Road Campus: 

  • Ilse Pretorius ilsep@taurangaspecialschool.nz
  • Yasumi Kobayashi yasumik@taurangaspecialschool.nz


Community College Class: 

  • Brendon Oates brendono@taurangaspecialschool.nz
  • Margaret Briasco margaretb@taurangaspecialschool.nz


Core Values.svg